## IN THE SUPREME COURT OF TEXAS

Misc. Docket No. 06-

## ORDER REGARDING SUSPENSION OF ATTORNEYS FOR FAILURE TO TAKE A GUIDE TO THE BASICS OF LAW PRACTICE

One decade ago, this Court mandated "that all lawyers licensed in the State of Texas on and after July 1, 1996, are required to take the course entitled *A Guide to the Basics of Law Practice*" not later than twelve months after licensure. Misc. Docket No. 96-9078, at 1 (March 1, 1996), *as amended by* Misc. Docket No. 96-9226 (Oct. 15, 1996). The purpose of the *Basics of Law Practice* course is to "help bridge the gap between law school and practice." Misc. Docket No. 96-9078, at 1. The Texas Center for Legal Ethics and Professionalism ("TCLEP") was designated as the original course sponsor and provider and remains the sole provider designated to date, although other Continuing Legal Education providers may also seek approval from the Court to provide a comparable program of study. *See id.* Pursuant to the Court's order, TCLEP offers the course has also been offered on-line.

To date, approximately 1,200 Texas attorneys licensed since July 1, 1996 have failed to comply with the attendance requirement specified in Misc. Docket Nos. 96-9078 and 96-9226.

Starting in 1998, TCLEP has mailed notice of non-compliance twice annually to all non-attendees, using attorney addresses on file with the Membership Department of the State Bar. In 2005, TCLEP added quarterly notification by electronic mail to all non-attendees with an e-mail address on file with the State Bar, while continuing semi-annual notice by letter mail.

Despite notice and the availability of the *Guide to the Basics of Law Practice* course, many Texas attorneys have failed to heed this Court's orders requiring attendance. Therefore, beginning October 1, 2006, the Clerk of the Supreme Court shall suspend from the practice of law any member of the Texas Bar who has not complied, by the last day of the month that is four months after the expiration of the first anniversary of his or her license month, with the course attendance requirements specified in Misc. Docket Nos. 96-9078 and 96-9226. Requests for extensions of time to comply or for exemption from compliance, and any appeals arising from denials of such requests, shall be governed by Article XII, §9 of the State Bar Rules. Attorneys suspended for non-attendance shall not practice law in Texas until they have satisfied the course attendance requirements and have paid (1) all fees and charges required for completing the *Guide to the Basics of Law Practice* course, or any similar course approved by the Court for that purpose; and (2) a \$25 administrative fee, payable to the Clerk of the Supreme Court. For suspended attorneys who successfully complete the above reinstatement requirements within 45 days of the date of suspension, the date of reinstatement will relate back to the date of suspension.

A copy of this Order shall be published in the July and August issues of the Texas Bar Journal, and a link to an electronic copy shall be posted in a prominent location on the Court's Misc. Docket No. 06-

website for at least four months after the date of issuance of this Order. It is further ordered that the Director of the MCLE Department of the State Bar of Texas notify all members of the Texas Bar currently out of compliance with the attendance requirement specified in Misc. Docket Nos. 96-9078 and 96-9226 by mailing a letter informing the attorney of his or her non-compliance, along with a copy of this Order, to each non-compliant attorney's Preferred Address and Second Address (if any) on file with the Membership Department of the State Bar.

In Chambers, this  $6^{+h}$  day of June, 2006.

than L. Hecht, Justice Na

H eill. Justice

Justice

fice

David M. Medina, Justice

Misc. Docket No. 06-

Page 3

Yauli m

Paul W. Green, Justice

Phil Johnson, Justice

OoF. Willett

Don R. Willett, Justice

9075 Misc. Docket No. 06-\_\_\_\_

Page 4